Posts from April 2015

Accident Forgiveness is worth it!

Mapfre-Commerce recently dropped the cost of adding Accident Forgiveness coverage to your policy to 5% of your premium. Hopefully you’re asking yourself “What is Accident Forgiveness Steve, and why is it important to me?” and not “when will you correctly learn where to place a comma?!”.

I had an accident about 7 years ago. I hit a neighbor’s rock (don’t ask!) and caused $2,200 worth of damage to my car. Yes, I said $2,200! Ugh anyway, my insurance went up $468 that first year as a result of my accident. And I had to live with that surcharge for 6 years (although it did go down each year).

The answer to that problem, Accident Forgiveness. For 5% of your policy premium Mapfre-Commerce will waive the premium surcharge if you have an at-fault accident. There are several other items to discuss with this coverage, but that’s what we are here for so call our office today to add this great coverage.

If you want find out more follow this link to Mapfre-Commerce.

Happy Opening Day, Go Sox!

Thanks,
Steve

The above is meant as general information and as general policy descriptions to help you understand the different types of coverages available to you. Always consult your policy for actual coverages and exclusions.

New Dead Battery Law? 04/07/15

rain
Well, it’s not called the dead battery law, but that’s what you’ll want to call it when you leave your lights on due to new law that takes effect April 7, 2015.

The new Massachusetts law (Chapter 481 of the Acts of 2014) now requires motorists to turn on their headlights when “when the vehicle’s windshield wipers are needed.”  Mass. General Laws Chapter 85 section 15 also states that headlights should be in use for a half hour before sunrise and sunset or when visibility is under 500 feet.

Here is the kicker for your insurance….If cited you will also receive a surcharge on your auto insurance policy. That will no doubt be significantly more expensive than the $5 violation. So lights on Massachusetts, but don’t forget to turn them off when you shut off your car or you’ll be cursing the dead battery law.

Have a lovely day!

Steve Murphy